Fail to back up my live site | Old Forum | Forum Archive

The free forums are no longer in use. It remains available as read-only archive.

Lost password?
Advanced Search
Forum Scope

Match

Forum Options

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
The forums are currently locked and only available for read only access
sp_TopicIcon
Fail to back up my live site
August 10, 2008
12:00 am
storm4u
Guests

I try to backup my live site to trasnfer it to my localhost. I have figured out how to make a manual transfer, since there is not an option to clone directly to a localhost (as far as I can figure out, but I'm pretty new to XCloner).
My problem is I don't get a full version of my live site when I try to backup.
Settings:
No to manual backup
Yes to compress
Yes to enable db backup
No to include backups directory
Have not checked any active boxes
My SQL settings corespond with my access to my database

Why do I only get a partial backup?

I have tried to restore this partial backup to a testsite and it will restore what it backed up, which is only a fraction of my site. Missing is all the css, files, components etc, but some of the stuff is there.

thx
storm4u

August 10, 2008
admin
Guests

Please open a support ticket and send us your original site Joomla and XCloner admin details to check the backup process, is the backup archive on the restore site the same size as on the original?

Second, have you checked the diskspace available on your original site, are you able to store a further backup?

Since you are on a localhost, are you able to open the backup archive with an archive client, do you get the files in there?

Ovidiu

August 10, 2008
storm4u
Guests

I will open a support ticket.
Just to answer your questions: