using a test joomla instance on the same domain | Old Forum | Forum Archive

The free forums are no longer in use. It remains available as read-only archive.

Lost password?
Advanced Search
Forum Scope

Match

Forum Options

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
The forums are currently locked and only available for read only access
sp_TopicIcon
using a test joomla instance on the same domain
February 17, 2010
12:00 am
alias2211
Guests

Hi-

I've been using Xcloner for a few months now, and it's great. I can't believe how easy it is to use for restoring and changing domains. I'm hooked, and I have been telling my Joomla developer friends about it. At this point, I'd like to really expand our use of Xcloner by implementing a test instance of our Joomla site, but on a subdomain of the same domain. I thought I would post here first before proceeding, to see if there are any best practices or suggestions that you have about how to set this up in the best way.

Basically, we're going live with our site, and that will be the production site. Now when we want to make changes to the template, add a module, etc., we won't be able to do that on our live site w/o impacting the user experience. So here's what we're thinking:

1. http://www.mysite.com = Production server
2. test.mysite.com = Development server

We currently run a cron nightly backup of production, and we'd use those TAR file backups as the basis for our subdomain TEST.

Any tips/suggestions/cautions that you can think of would be much appreciated. I just mainly want to know if there are issues w/ maintaining a development instance of joomla on the same domain, insofar as the XCloner component is concerned.

February 17, 2010
admin
Guests