404 error -cannot open site | Joomla Support | Forum Archive

The free forums are no longer in use. It remains available as read-only archive.

Lost password?
Advanced Search
Forum Scope

Match

Forum Options

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
The forums are currently locked and only available for read only access
sp_TopicIcon
404 error -cannot open site
February 25, 2013
4:02 pm
Guests

Hi!

Thank you for the lovely extension! I managed without problem to backup and restore my site on localhost, although I am a complete beginner in Joomla (I'm using Joomla 2.5 by the way) and web design alltogether, although with an engineering background so I have a vague idea.

It seemed like the site successfully cloned on the remote server, as well (according to the messages I got from XCloner.php). But once I tried to open the site I got either 404 or 500 error messages.

I did try all the tips I found on your forum for simillar posts - I made sure with my hosting provider that everything has 777 permissions, I did disable SEF URLs, I tried to restore everything manually through FTP client, many, many times with different settings (each time I would create a brand new database). I tried to comment lines in htaccess.txt as explained,  than I tried excluding htaccess.txt from the backup. Unfortunately nothing worked. 

Well, I really tried not to bother you guys, but it lookes like I ran out of ideas.

Please, help. My URL is http://www.boomerang.....studios.gr.

Thanks in advance!

February 25, 2013
9:28 pm
Ovidiu Liuta
Admin
Forum Posts: 2484
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Usually the 404 errors are caused by the SEF ur's, so try and disable that. For the 500 errors, the issue might be something else and you need to check your site error_log for the full error message. Are you able to access the restored site admin backend?

Ovidiu

February 26, 2013
1:52 pm
Guests